I got a letter from AAA recently announcing that I was quickly using up my free tows. It was a sobering moment.

Last week I went out to start my Honda, and nothing happened. Fortunately Bev was home for vacation, so I didn’t have to rent a car. I knew that I was going to have to make a change in vehicles, a thought I didn’t relish.

I e-mailed a friend of mine and told him that I needed to buy a car and what my budget was. He referred me to one of his salesmen who then showed me their used car stock in that price range. I wasn’t thrilled by the choices.

On the way home Bev and I checked out Honda and Volkswagen. We were impressed by a 2000 Passat with 71k miles. It was fully loaded and quite a nice car. It had been on the lot for 90 days so they were ready to deal. They met my price.

Meanwhile, my friend told me he had something he wanted me to look at. I’m speechless. It was a 2005 Chevy Malibu with 13k miles on it and fully loaded. For the same price as the Passat!

Clearly, God and my friend had the same idea. Surprise Bruce for Christmas. I called my investment guy and cashed out some mutuals, and now I’m the proud new owner of a car that works. I’m gonna sleep well tonight.